Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, people are suffering from countless environmental challenges. Different views thus exist about whether the major issue of the environment is the extinction of plants and animals or other pressing environmental concerns. I believe that modern society is confronting more serious environmental problems. To begin with, air pollution is a prime environmental concern of the contemporary world. Currently, there are numerous toxic emissions discharged from heavy industry factories that make the air become contaminated and cause detrimental effects on people ’s well-being. For example, Chinese citizens complain that they are suffering from a lot of respiratory diseases since they have to inhale a lot of of air pollutants released from the incineration of solid fuels. Undoubtedly, dealing with the high level of air pollution is an urgent challenge for people of our time. Some people could argue that the loss of biodiversity is more serious. These people believe that this would cause a ripple effect on the ecosystem, which means that the extinction of certain species would lead to the loss of other species. For instance, in the food chain, if herbivores became extinct, predators that feed on such animals would also cease to exist due to a lack of food supply. If this were true, the reduction of biodiversity would result in an imbalance in the ecosystem. However, this aforementioned argument is rather weak since the loss of certain flora and fauna only affects wildlife species, not human beings. Humankind is facing global warming, which is a bigger environmental challenge that is threatening humans’ lives day by day. In other words, global warming will result in ecological catastrophes, such as drought, hurricanes, and other disasters that lead to the death of thousands of people and the destruction of houses and buildings yearly. Evidence for this can be seen in the hurricane Katrina which killed nearly two thousand people and resulted in the damage of countless infrastructures in New Orleans. Admittedly, such environmental concerns like global warming seem to be more important compared to reduced biodiversity. In conclusion, there are clearly numerous urgent environmental challenges. Such problems include air pollutants and the increase in temperature that have a tremendous impact on humanity. People of modern society should strive to prevent disastrous events from becoming worse in the future.