Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there is no doubt that our world is gradually changing every day, partly affecting the lives of thousands of creatures on Earth. This leads one to wonder whether the disappearance of species of plants and animals is the most major environmental concern while there are a number of considerable issues which should be paid more attention to. I believe that these problems such as climate change and radioactive waste are more critical, therefore, authorities should consider them as high-priority issues that need to be addressed. Admittedly, climate change is one of the most urgent problems which influences the lives of humans and wild animals. They face challenges for survival due to it. For instance, once temperatures rise suddenly, these animals that live at the North Pole, such as polar bears and walruses, will mostly be affected since the snow melts faster. This would lead to the destruction of their habitat, relocation to another land, or even deprivation of their lives. Also, as climate change becomes more severe, people intensively suffer the consequences of drought, which can impact agricultural production and human health. Therefore, it is important to take action to minimize the influence of climate change on humans and wildlife by learning how to adapt to it. Environmental activists may contend that the government should have been concerned about the existence of many species of flora and fauna as a priority issue... However, this environmental argument is too simplistic. The disappearance of many species of wildlife might partly be due to the laws of nature even if the government has interfered. Furthermore, in tandem with climate change, radioactive waste is also a major consequence of nuclear reactors and fuel processing factories, and it can cause nausea, the risk of cancer, and even death if it discharges a high amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. Therefore, making a concerted attempt to drastically cut global carbon emissions will be a great solution to assist not only human health but also organisms becoming less vulnerable and extinct. In conclusion, although the loss of species of wildlife is an indispensable issue that needs to be settled, the priority of these important concerns listed above is more urgent. A better method is to raise people’s awareness of using environmentally friendly items and public transport to diminish negative environmental repercussions.