Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people feel that advertising is very effective at influencing consumers’ buying decisions, while others claim that it is so commonplace and as a result cannot draw people’s attention anymore. Although social media has made advertising more common than ever before, I think it is still extremely powerful because it creates desire for the products it is selling. On the one hand, it can be argued that social media platforms feed users with tremendous amounts of advertising. On these platforms, there are endless advertisements. What’s more, even the pictures and videos that influencers post about their daily lives can be a promotion of a certain brand. As a consequence, people may become very insensitive to what those advertisements and promotional posts are saying and just scroll through their feed as quickly as possible. However, I disagree with this argument because if advertising on social media didn’t yield sales, some social media companies and influencers would not become so wealthy. On the other hand, it is thought that advertisers are very good at planting a seed of desire in consumers’ minds. For instance, Many lingerie manufacturers use sex models in their commercials to send women the message that if they wear their lingerie, they can be as sexy as those models. The message arouses their desire to become more attractive and as a result, they purchase it even though they do not need any. I agree with this opinion because I purchased many unnecessary things which I wouldn’t even have thought of buying if advertisers hadn’t planted the ideas in my head. In conclusion, while the overwhelming amount of advertising on social networking sites may make people immune to it, I believe it is still very effective because it creates the desire in consumers to buy products.