In recent years, pressure on school and university students has been increasing and they are pushed to work very hard from a young age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In a constantly-changing world today, students are under much more pressure from schoolwork since they are forced to be diligent in academics from an early age. In my opinion, it should be considered negative on account of several reasons below. To begin with, I believe that putting increasing academic pressure on students can leave many detrimental implications for their physical well-being. In particular, many young children have to suffer from fatigue and health deterioration when they are pushed to spend most of their time studying at school and in extra classes on a daily basis. In other words, too much time is allocated to studying hard, which means that they are likely to lead a sedentary lifestyle without any chances to do physical activities regularly. In addition, with a tight study schedule, young children and university students can be put at risk of mental health issues such as stress and depression which are the main culprits of the increasing suicide rate. This can be exemplified by the cases in some Asian countries such as Korea and China where studying is very pressured due to tough competitiveness with prestigious universities. This leads many students to make a desperate decision of ending their own lives to escape from all pressure. Some parents hold an argument that it is beneficial for children to form a study routine and work hard at school at a young age. To be more specific, they strongly argue that with serious efforts, their offspring can gain fruitful achievements in their future. Although I accept that studying hard is of vital importance to children ’s future jobs, I still support the view that learning should be enjoyable, so children need to have a carefree and happy childhood. In fact, children are vulnerable, and too much pressure can make them obsessed and unmotivated in the learning process. In conclusion, in light of the aforementioned reasons including adverse effects on physical and mental health as well as children ’s inner will to learn new knowledge, I firmly hold a belief that this trend is overall a negative development.