Overpopulation is the cause of number of problems, especially in urban areas. What are its causes? What are its effects?

Nowadays our society is experiencing a large number of issues and one of them is the gigantic number of people living in the same area, especially in the cities. The present essay will explain the situation well as the factors that generated it and consequences. Firstly, the reasons for the mentioned problem are related to the people’s need to obtain better opportunities in terms of work and education. While more companies are recruiting people with provocative salaries, in the rural areas the conditions are disappointing. For example, a teacher living in Melbourne could find a job in a community centre earning around $35 per hour whereas in Regional Victoria doing the same job their salary could be up to $25. Besides, in our present age capitalism and the need to consume more and more are present in all the families and being in a metropolitan region assures easy access to the most expensive and sophisticated brands. An example of this is Apple, one of the most famous companies which of course has shops only in principal cities and not even one the rurality. Hence, the consequences of this are countless and go from the absolute poverty in rural areas due to the minimal population located there, to the overuse of resources in the cities, increment in traffic problems and taxes rise and even worse the transformation of natural reserves and parks, that currently function as natural oxygen purifiers, in buildings and houses to respond to the demand. For instance, a local park will be modified as construction with many apartments that will accommodate a large number of families. To conclude, it is necessary to recognize that the overpopulation is huge in the cities as a cause of the minor alternatives and the expectation of people to acquire more and more goods and if we don’t act now to stop this situation it will impact the environment and the quality of life of the entire world.