In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

In some nations, college pupils decide to live with their families by choosing to study in local institutes, while others decide to leave their cities to study in other places. Certainly, living away from parents leads to attending university will provide more advantages instead of drawbacks. This essay will examine the positive benefits that students can obtain. To begin with, applying to universities which are far away from home, can obtain many benefits for young people. This trend will offer a chance to attend one of the top campuses in their countries. For instance, many students in Indonesia who live in the countryside have a high motivation to apply the universities in the capital city or Java island, such as the University of Indonesia or Padjajaran University. They perceive universities in those places will have more chances for job prospects and employment opportunities. Furthermore, they will be more independent and learn to take care of their selves if they live without family. They should learn how to manage their budgets per month, food, and laundry. Additionally, they also have a chance to learn new cultures and adapt to the new environment. To illustrate, students from Sumatra island get used to the local Java language and local foods which have different tastes from their home towns. To sum up, considering whether to continue their studies inside or outside their home towns, depends on their goals. However, deciding study to in another city is a good chance to learn new things, get more knowledge and be more independent by living away from home.