Some feel that cities shold be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Designing a city becomes a difficult task when there exists a controversy whether to give preference to its beauty or the functionality. I feel both the aspects should be looked upon, but in most cases, the second aspect can be given more preference. When analysing the merits of designing a city beautiful, the best is the impressive life a city resident can get rather than adjusting with the usual busy and hectic life. To be precise, an individual would feel refreshed and rejuvenated even after a tiresome work in a city with ample space for gardens, parks and specially designed buildings. This sort of emotional well-being can be hardly found in cities filled with just concrete jungles, mostly appearing the same, the first group says. On the other hand, others feel that town-planners should give priority to more pressing demands of the city dwellers than on beauty. This means priority needs of the urban population have to be addressed, and for this the available space of the cities should be utilized in the most rational way. To be clearer, instead of wasting a sizeable area of cities for constructing parks and gardens, it can be utilized to build schools, colleges and hospitals, which would benefit more number of residents. In my opinion, the primary function of a city is to satisfy the needs of its residents. Therefore, when designing a city, more focus should be given to its functionality than its beauty. To conclude, it is clear that both the aspects: beauty and functionality have to be considered before planning a city. However, I feel the second option weighs more.