The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The increasing traffic accidents have made the governments come up with many deterrence. Among all those, I strongly support the approach of applying stricter punishments on driving offenses to improve road safety stricter. First and foremost, national and local authorities are not tough on crime has explained why people keep committing such offenses. There should be more severe punishments such as custodial sentences, high fines, and imprisonment so that the total weight of the law can be imposed on the road users. For example, they should bear high fines and temporary vehicle confiscation for all blowing the red lights. If they commit such severe crimes as breaking the speed limit or driving while intoxicated, they should serve a non-custodial sentence. Nextly, the letter of the law would act as prevention, making people more careful and thoughtful on the road. The government should publicize the punishments for the offenders so that the drivers could be equipped with more knowledge and, as a result, adhere to the traffic rules. Moreover, I think the government should also apply other policies to improve road safety. The high on the agenda is to provide funding for building more multi-lane roads and road bridges, as these boost traffic calming during rush hours and decline accidents due to crossing the lane. Other effective ones are to install more speed cameras and conduct regular vehicles inspections; with the help of these, vehicle users would be more aware of self-safety when joining the traffic. In conclusion, the law is always a valuable tool to deter crimes under any circumstances. Therefore, I fully believe that stricter punishments will significantly impact traffic safety.