The education of young people is highly prioritised in many countries. However, educating adults who cannot write and read is even more important and governments should spend more money on this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The economy of governments hugely depends on the literacy of their citizens. There is a debatable concept whether the government should allocate investments to the education of the young generation or the older generation who are illiterate. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss my viewpoint. On the one hand, the government should invest money in the education of the young generation, as their youthful brains can absorb a great deal of information during their childhood and adolescent years. It may increase literacy among the population, and creating more professionals will result in a more stable economy. For instance, the Philippines is one of the producers of professional nurses and other medical practitioners overseas since they have better education in nursing and allied health services. The continued growth of overseas Filipino worker remittances rose the country's economy. Thus, better education for youngsters will lead to a solid and stable financial system. On the other hand, the significance of illiterate adult education also should not be overlooked, but the government should also provide free vocational training. For some reason, it might hopefully decrease the unemployment and crime rates among people, leading to successfully sustaining peace and order in society. After the government offered technical education and skills development among Filipinos, the Philippines' unemployment trend has significantly declined. Hence, allocating money to less-educated people’s education is also advisable. In conclusion, having considered all, I reiterate the government should invest money in the education of both age groups for the development of the economy and the welfare of citizens.