International travel is becoming cheaper, and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, the cost of visiting a foreign country has been decreasing and many nations have relaxed their visa norms to invite a greater number of visitors. I believe this trend is more advantageous and international travel is supposed to further grow in the coming times. There are many advantages of people travelling to foreign nations. First, it is a great source of revenue for the visiting countries as tourists spend a great amount on food and lodging expenses, which in turn strengthen the economy. For example, France’s GDP has grown by leaps and bounds with over lakhs of visitors going to Paris to see the Eiffel Tower. Second, while foreign economies benefit from an increase in their earnings, foreign travel is equally exciting for tourists. They get to explore different culture, cuisines, and languages which makes them more aware of the world and enhance their personalities. Thus, it is not only the visiting nations that benefit from increased tourism but also the visitors and hence, the trend of international travel will keep on rising. On the contrary, there are certain downsides to individuals going on a foreign trip, which cannot be ignored. The major one being is a loss to the local tourism industry. As an increasing number of folks are preferring to visit a new country, it acts as an opportunity loss to the local people’s earnings, which in turn is a negative impact on nations’ earning potential. Another negative is that it results in a rise in air pollution levels. With rising demand for visiting an exotic nation, a greater number of airlines must fly to carry people which causes more and more air pollution. To illustrate, the CO2 emissions of the airline industry have nearly doubled in the last decade with the increased frequency of flights. To conclude, the craze of going on a foreign trip is certainly positive for both the visitors as well as the country being visited. Though it has adverse effects on local businesses and the environment, the benefits received are way more than the negatives.