It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Teaching children at a young age how to distinguish between right and wrong is significant. To help them learn this distinction, adults tend to give them punishments. Personally, I am not convinced by this opinion for some reasons. There are many reasons why some parents should not use severe punishments to educate their children. Firstly, most parents believe that hitting their children with a ruler or a stick, makes them not make the same mistake again. In contrast, that will make them become more frightened and passive. Secondly, scolding or utilizing harsh words will not help children differentiate between what is right and wrong, it affects their mental health. As a result, it makes them become more timid and afraid. To be able to overcome, parents should give punishments that are gentle and positive for children. Firstly, they can punish them by doing community service, which will help children to raise their consciousness even more. Secondly, the punishment of housework is also a good solution to help children practice more responsibility, and it also helps them improve their health and thinking through chores. Last but not least, children can be punished by doing other things to replace their daily activities but it has to be positive for them. For example, normally children watch TV after school, at that time we force them to clean the house in case they make a mistake at school. In conclusion, it is very important to teach children how to distinguish between right and wrong. In my opinion, I think parents should give positive punishments rather than harsh ones.