Some people think that space exploration is a waste of resources while others think that it is essential for mankind to continue explore the universe in which we live. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Space exploration is considered to be a wasteful usage of assets by some, but few reckon that it is important for humans to keep on exploring the outer world. I agree that the human species should pursue the exploration of outer celestial bodies as it has more potential benefits than the cost involved. Talking about the positives, the cosmos expedition has been an important source of innovation in the technology space we live in. World wide internet availability, TV broadcasting, and GPS locations are some of the biggest innovative solutions that came to life only once we had satellites revolving in the outer hemisphere. In addition, it also enabled us to learn more about how the world and life came into existence, which has a great contribution to the evolution of the human species. Lastly, it made us aware of the endless energy sources available in space, such as solar energy, and UV rays, which can be harnessed to sustain the energy demands of our future generations. Many believe space research is a misuse of resources because of the massive amount of effort and investment it requires, which they assume could have been used to solve more pressing issues, such as hunger, poverty, and education. For instance, it took over 50 years of human effort and billions of dollars for NASA to successfully reach the moon, and it required hundreds of failed attempts to develop the complex machinery required to sustain human life outside earth. It is this wasted effort that people reckon as an opportunity cost to provide better healthcare, social security and a better standard of living on earth. Hence, they believe it to be a futile exercise. To conclude, even though it is true that exploring outer spheres requires massive human efforts, I believe the benefits received are much bigger than the time and money involved.