In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the past fifteen years or so, the world has experienced many technological revolutions such as the breakthrough of artificial intelligence and information technology. These breakthroughs have been utilized in the automobile industry for approximately a decade. Some people think that the developments of driverless vehicles can benefit more passengers and vehicle manufacturers with more safety protections and lower production costs while others doubt that these trends may cause some problems such as higher unemployment rates and fewer job opportunities in the future. This essay will discuss both perspectives in the below paragraphs, and why I believe that the advantages of driverless automobiles outweigh the disadvantages. First, it can be asserted that driverless vehicles have many benefits in modern and future society. That is, this transportation can influence many commuters and vehicle manufacturers. To be more specific, commuters and passengers can take advantage of driverless vehicles such as more safety protections like automated systems to control the vehicles ’ brakes, wheels, and gears. For vehicle manufacturers, they can lower their production costs and lessen their numbers of employees because more driverless vehicles production processes have been automated, and this means that the factories do not need more labourers which can reduce the automobile manufacturers’ costs. On the other hand, it can be suggested that some sceptics may doubt that driverless cars, buses, and trucks will bring more negative effects to apply modern and future society. That is to say, they assume that these automated vehicles can cause some inevitable results for the public. For example, many drivers can lose their jobs because driverless vehicles do not need them to drive or control, which means that these drivers can not use their skills to make money at all. Furthermore, the labourers who work in the automobile factories may face unemployed as these factories do not need more labourers to participate in the production processes of automated vehicles in the future. In conclusion, it seems that driverless automobiles can affect many drivers and workers to lose their jobs, but the opportunity costs for automated vehicles still have more benefits than its drawbacks. Based on the above reasons, I believe that the pros of driverless vehicles outweigh their cons.