More and more plastic is polluting the city, countryside and ocean. What are the problems caused by plastic waste? What measures should be taken to solve these problems?

Plastic pollution is becoming a buzzword among the general population, politicians and scientists across the world. In this essay, we will examine the main problems due to the contamination caused by the man-made material and some possible solutions. The two main problems caused by the contamination of plastics are its threat to all life forms due to its degradability. Firstly, like most man-made items, plastic also is non-biodegradable. In other words, when plastics are disposed of, it remains in the soil and oceans for centuries before it starts decomposing. Furthermore, the ubiquity and the low cost of this material is making it easily accessible to people without burning a hole through their pockets. For example, many commercial products such as shower gels and toothpaste contain microplastics in them in order to clean better. These microplastics are swallowed by small aquatic animals, which are then eaten by larger animals resulting in a severe threat to the marine ecosystem. Some possible solutions to the pressing issue are recycling and sustainable alternatives. Reprocessing this synthetic material into something new and useful will reduce the dependency of humans on landfills, hence contributing to significantly low pollution. On the other hand, educating people to switch to more sustainable materials and limit their use of plastic can also have a positive impact on the situation. For instance, people can start carrying steel bottles to quench their thirst instead of buying plastic bottled water from shops. Moreover, efforts should be made to carry a cloth bag or request for a paper bag while grocery shopping at supermarkets and shops. To conclude, plastic has led to severe contamination of the land and water bodies causing a threat to all lifeforms. I believe educating civilians to recycle plastic and switch to the use of bio-degradable items as a replacement would reduce plastic pollution dramatically.