Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of e-commerce as well as the spreading of the COVID-19 pandemic in recent years, online shopping is increasing rapidly. This essay will examine whether the benefits of online shopping can outweigh the drawback, as e-commerce is more convenient and consumers can buy things at a better price. One commonly cited disadvantage of online shopping is that the consumers can not experience the products before they decide to buy them. As in conventional shopping, people go to the store to find and select the goods they one and they can reconsider purchasing things if they find these products are not fit their expectations. In contrast, buying things online doesn't give customers this option. As result, they might buy things that they can not use. For example, many people buy fashional products online and when they received them they feel regret, as they don't nice like what they are on the website or the size is not fitted. However, there are many significant advantages of online shopping. Firstly, buying things online is more convenient. As people are too busy with their work and family, therefore spending time going to a store to purchase things is a waste of time. E-commerce is a key for busy people who just spend several minutes online and the e-commerce website chooses the goods they want to buy and processes the payment, the things will be delivered to their home directly. Furthermore, online shopping can help consumers buy products at more reasonable prices. As customers just stay at home to look for and check the same product from many stores on the e-commerce platform, they can easily choose the best price and also compare the service of vendors for the final decision. For instance, on Shopee an online shopping platform, there are various types of iPhone cases from different vendors and consumers easily check the price, promotion, and service before purchasing. In conclusion, despite some drawbacks, I think buying things on the internet brings more benefits that can offset the disadvantages, and that's why online shopping is booming in recent years.