Some people believe that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jail, while others believe that they should be treated like patients and sent to hospital. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that Narcotic addicts must be treated as perpetrators and immediately sent to prison whereas, others believe that they are medically ill and need to be treated in the hospital. Although putting offenders behind bars seems to be a quick and convenient method for the state to punish substance abusers. In my perspective providing physical care, emotional care and mental therapy is the most viable solution. To begin with, On the one hand, confinement can be seen as the most appropriate solution for the authorities to deter crimes and criminals. By locking up addicts state government can radically reduce the likelihood of getting new citizens involved in the addiction, and teach people a lesson or the price of wrongdoing. For instance, in the United States of America, the government have a strict law regarding substance abuse and if someone gets caught red-handed with even a small piece of cocaine are likely to be locked up for more than years. On the other hand, helping Substance addicts cease their habit under medical supervision is thought to decrease the number of addicts in the long term. By continuously providing physical care, emotional support and psychological therapy can address the root cause of it and over time with compassion, support and needed procedural treatment multitudinous pharmaceutical addicts can be free from inhaling and taking it. For example, the government of every state in Nepal provides rehabilitation centres along with treatment which has eventually helped hundreds of addicts refrain from addiction. Thus, addicts must be seen as diseased patients rather than criminals and adequate treatment should be provided to them. To conclude, after all the aforementioned reasons, although, imprisonment sentences for substance abusers can alleviate the number of crimes and criminals, however, I firmly believe that holistic care should be given to addicts to eventually be set free from life-taking addiction.