Modern technology is changing our world. It has advantages such as bringing people closer together through communication; it also has disadvantages such as destroying the differences between cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Over the past 40 years, technological changes silently drove a massive social revolution and significantly narrowed the gap between countries, cultures and races. While agreeing that it brings people together, I strongly disagree with it being a threat to cultural diversity. This essay will focus on how the internet and the smartphone have revolutionized the way groups of people come together not just for socializing and friendship but also to make the bonds of their traditions grow strong and sustain outside of physical boundaries that usually govern a culture. On the one hand, the internet set out to accomplish an unheard task: easing communication across countries, and making information available to everyone. On the other hand, smartphones made this information available to people and diluted the boundaries of people, culture, and gender bringing people together. For instance, it made a person suggest a job that would suit someone in his high school Whatsapp group showcasing the value of weak links. This proves that the world is becoming a smaller and more cohesive place for us to live. It is a myth that technology is destroying cultural diversity. On the contrary, it is allowing people to experience culture irrespective of the physical location they live in. For example, they started organizing themselves into online cultural groups, to organize and sustain themselves in a foreign land. As an example, hundreds of Hindu pilgrims organizing and participating in festival celebrations in the United States not just strengthened their culture but also helped it survive in an unknown land. In conclusion, I think we are moving towards a very promising society, which is going to retain its rich culture, while making it a tightly-knit world.