In some countries, students must pay their own college or university fees while in others government pays. Do the advantages of Using government money for college and university fees outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the government bears the cost of tertiary education in some countries. Although this is advantageous for some underprivileged students, I believe the drawbacks certainly outweigh the benefits. The main advantage of the government paying for college and university is that this creates equal opportunity for everyone and reduces the disparity between the poor and the rich. The poor are unable to afford a college education because of a lack of family support and concerns about debts in the future. With government -paid university education, everyone can go to college and acquire a college degree without crushing debt on their shoulder. The career opportunities that come with a university education can get them out of the endless cycle of poverty. However, the drawbacks of publicly funded university education are far too many. One of the main drawbacks is that the quality of education goes down. When more people go to college, the campuses get overcrowded, making the classes larger and reducing teachers' attention to students. Also, the value of education comes down. Universities become full of non-serious students, just whiling away their time and the number of dropouts also increases. If students know that their parent's hard-earned money is going into their higher education or if they have monstrous student debts, they would not relax and study seriously. Another drawback of the government paying the fee is the lost opportunity cost. In other words, tertiary education is very expensive and if the government pays college fees for everyone, it is going to be left with little resources to spend on other important sectors like healthcare and infrastructure. The government can offer loans or scholarships for poor students, but completely funding higher education would come at cost of development in other areas. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that though government -paid college education benefits the poor, the disadvantages are far too many to be ignored.