In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In societies that value the tradition of family ties, purchasing a house is considered a duty to maintain this practice. This leads to the claim that it is more essential to possess a home than to rent one. Here I will analyze the factors contributing to the importance of owning a home and I believe it will have negative effects in the long run. There are several reasons why homeownership is more crucial than renting a home. Firstly, this trend provides an economic advantage. In other words, possessing a home can be seen as a long-term financial benefit since homeowners do not have to pay monthly rents that are increasing gradually. For instance, in America, the average monthly lease has risen significantly over the last few years, thus causing countless renters to suffer from renting inflation. Undoubtedly, homeowners can save up a great deal of money for future plans instead of spending it on rent. Secondly, owning a home also brings people a great sense of privacy and comfort. It means that homeowners can modify and renovate their own house without facing any hassles from the landlords; thus giving them the freedom to build their own residence and enjoy their living space. However, the emphasis on buying a house can be a negative trend. Nowadays, it is impractical for city dwellers to possess a house due to the dramatic growth in the real estate market. For example, in urban areas, numerous residents claim that the house prices are three times greater than their annual income. Therefore, this unpleasant situation would result in financial pressure for people who have low income and lead to the inability of affording their own house. Some might claim that when possessing an accommodation, people do not have to pay for any additional costs; however, this argument is dubious. In truth, homeowners have to be responsible for plenty of expenses that may incur. Evidence for this can be seen in America where most people who own a house have to pay maintenance fees or repair fees that may cost a fortune. Nevertheless, when it comes to renting a house, renters do not have to pay for such expenses since their landlords will cover these fees for them. Therefore, renting accommodation might be a better option for people who detest paying additional fees. In conclusion, the trend for possessing a house is attributable to two main reasons and I believe that this is an unpleasant progress. Although having your own home seems desirable in terms of the economy, it can cause people to confront countless financial burdens. Therefore, people who cannot afford to buy a house should not feel miserable about their incompetence.