In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In many cultures, especially in Asian nations, a house is a valuable asset that people want to purchase. This raises the question of whether it is necessary to own a residence compared to just possess temporarily. From my point of view, despite being well-spread among some nations, this mindset is no longer suitable for modern society. To start with, in some cultures, having a home of your shows how successful you are. Purchasing a place means you are financially independent and reliable. For instance, in China or Vietnam, buying a house proves you are ready to start a family. This is because these cultures believe in permanence and stability, which to them, are demonstrated by having a house. In my opinion, this is a negative situation. Firstly, this idea may create an invisible pressure on people who are on their journey to build a career of their own. The thought of having to own a house may prevent them from pursuing their dreams. Instead of experiencing and learning, they have to choose jobs that can support them financially to be able to purchase a house. Secondly, spreading this way of thinking leads to unreasonable expectations of the young generation, forming toxic standards for them. Buying a home means success while renting or living with your parents means failure and disappointments. The burden from these erroneous perceptions can cause serious mental health issues such as depression or anxiety. Certain communities still agree with this status and believe that this is a natural fact since a home is indeed a valuable property. Having a house can ensure that they have a place to live or an asset that can support them during difficult circumstances. Still, the imposition of this perception is unreasonable because owning a house is not the only way to prove success. If this idea is further popularized, people can have an intransigent attitude towards this matter and forget about their financial capability, which can cause heavy loans and even debt. In conclusion, the assumption of buying a house is more essential can create many bad impacts. Not only does it stop people from doing things they want, but it also generates harmful presumptions about society that may even affect health, leading to mental health issues.