Some parents buy their children many toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having many toys?

Children and their toys have a special relationship. A few parents get their children a lot of toys, sometimes more than required. While this may keep the child better entertained, a youngster also misses out on some important learnings of life. Any child who has a big variety of toys has the major advantage of not getting bored easily. They have the option to switch among different games whenever they feel even slight boredom. For example, the young one can pass time by playing ludo, carrom, car games etc. or even more since they have a big wardrobe of items available for their entertainment. In addition, the child gets to learn a lot about the world by playing diverse games, which otherwise would have been difficult. To illustrate, monopoly teaches business rules, snakes and ladder help in learning basic maths etc. Hence, there are many positives for the child if they have a lot of toys to play with. On the other hand, sometimes it can do great harm to the child ’s mindset. Some young ones may start feeling entitled to everything in life once they get too many toys at an early age without having to work hard, which can be a serious problem for many parents. For instance, children start throwing tantrums whenever anyone says no to them for anything. Furthermore, this abundance of toys hinders their learning of managing shortage of resources, which generally are learnt only if one must find creative ways of doing more with lesser resources. In conclusion, while there are certain advantages of parents gifting their children too many toys, there can be equal disadvantages as well. All guardians should try to find the balance between the two.