In the past, people ate local, in-season food, but now, people tend to consume out-of-season food from different parts of the world. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been pointed out that local food used to be eaten by local residents, while every single person tries to consume a great deal of foodstuff which is imported from other foreign countries nowadays. Personally, I opine that this trend is extremely detrimental to our environmental protection, which surpluses the advantage in terms of people's health. Nevertheless, despite the benefits below, having a significant proportion of imported items causes a serious drawback to our environment. The reason is that transporting these products is essential, which needs to be achieved by using vehicles. These transportation equipment is powdered by burning fuel and emits greenhouse gas and carbon dioxide into our environment, thus leading to irreversible environmental problems. For example, China and France have been making the cereal business since 2015, so transporting cereal between the two countries by cargo is quite common and necessary. As cargoes burn fuel and emit a countless amount of exhaust into the environment, it brings incredible detriments to environmental preservation. Admittedly, consuming non-seasonal fruits and vegetables has a minor benefit to our health. This is because different ingredients contain different nutrition, and if local residents are able to have several cuisines cooked with other regions' ingredients, they are more likely to absorb various vitamins, which is beneficial to their physical well-being. For instance, coconuts which cannot be harvested in most of the Chinese northern cities in winter involve a massive percentage of vitamin C and D. Transporting fruits has become popular between China and Thailand, which provides the locals living in northern cities an opportunity to eat dishes with coconuts, thus making them absorb more vitamin C, enhancing their immune system. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion about whether the advantages of eating non-seasonal other countries' foodstuffs outweigh the drawbacks of it, I am of the opinion that this circumstance is incredibly harmful to our environmental conservation, which excesses the benefit regarding our physical conditions.