Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only government and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Someone argues that preserving the environment is the subject only of governments and companies. I disagree with this opinion. In my view, while governments and big corporations are crucial in addressing environmental issues, individuals also can contribute their effort. Governments and big companies can indeed impose a huge impact on the environment. The governments can enact laws to normalize companies and citizens. For instance, the factory emissions have been limited and the empty beverage bottles must be recycled for both producers and consumers. In addition, governments can utilize media such as TV programmes, radio spots or non-commercial advertisements to enhance public awareness about saving our mother nature. A big company can lead an ecological custom. For example, McDonald's leads an eco-friendly fashion where plastic straws cannot be provided. The public’s will and behaviour have a crucial impact on company strategies and government policies. If nobody buys plastic bags and plastic cups, the companies will manufacture products that are eco-friendly in order to survive in the market. Most governments have to switch their demands in case of an extremely strong opposing voice. It is useful that city dwellers organize parades for the sake of wild animals. For example, many environmentalists voice for whales by demonstration and ask some countries' governments to stop catching and killing the whales. As a result, most countries' governments have ceased murdering whales. In conclusion, no effort is small when we are protecting the environment. Governments, big companies and individuals must shoulder their responsibility. Only by doing so can we assure we will hand a beautiful planet to our next generation.