Learning a foreign language offers an insight into how people from other cultures think and see the world. The teaching of a foreign language should be compulsory at all primary schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Developing linguistic skills provides a better understanding of various cultures around the world. Hence, many suggest that teaching various languages at all primary schools shall be made mandatory. However, I disagree with this belief and my views on it will be elaborate in the below paragraphs. Undoubtedly, learning different languages improves skills in children at a young age. Also, this helps them in future if they migrate to other countries for further studies or seek an aspiring career. However, there are a few shortcomings that cannot be ruled out completely. There is a vast majority of languages spoken around the world. It would be exhausting for the teachers to teach them all and so only a few selected ones can be taught. Consequently, a child can learn only one or two lingos which may or may not be useful to them. For instance, one of my friends had studied German and French in her school, however she had to migrate to China and learn Chinese for further studies which rendered her foreign linguistics skills moot. Thus, learning skills shall be developed at a later stage of life rather than at a very young age. Acquiring lessons in their mother tongue and English- The Global Language- should be made compulsory for students but for other subjects, the choice should be given to them rather than making it a compulsion. Also, more focus on Science, Maths and basic knowledge is more vital for youngsters. All in all, knowledge of an international tongue gives an idea of the people of different cultures and provides insight into knowing the nuances of the world. But, making it compulsory for young children at the school level is inappropriate and they should be allowed to choose any language of their interest without any restriction.