Many people think that the government should not restrict what people say in public media as it is part of freedom of speech. To what extent do you agree to this statement?

Freedom of expression gives special rights and duties to the individuals to speak in public media. Some populace argues that individuals should have the freedom to hold opinions and to impart and receive information and ideas without interference from the government. Although I agree that, this is important, I also believe that the public has a duty to behave responsibly towards publishing truthful and verified information and to respect other people's privacy and reputation. There are several reasons for folks to express themselves freely as it works for the benefit of the entire society in keeping the public informed and making sure the public can scrutinise the work of government, politicians and other people who play an important role in society. Therefore, they are afforded freedom and protection. For example, the Australian public recently roasted some of the liberal leaders over delays in flood relief funding by using harsher words of criticism and protecting their sources, which resulted in getting quicker funding for the disaster victims. In addition, this kind of support helps in strengthening and uplifting communities, as they overcome the significant damage caused by these events. Thus, it is why media is considered the "watchdog" of every democratic society. However, this does not mean that rights and freedoms are not unlimited, it involves duties and responsibilities to whats said. Firstly, an individual's freedom of expression may be restricted if he/she oversteps the boundaries of other people’s privacy and reputation. For example, when publishing private details that are not relevant for public discussion or allegations that have no factual basis. Secondly, they also have a special responsibility toward society to publish truthfully and verified information. In conclusion, It is important that the folks publish truthfully and verified information and respect other person's privacy boundaries and reputations. That said, I do believe the media being society's watchdog, people should be allowed to express themselves freely for the benefit of the entire society.