In the past, people ate local food in season, but nowadays, people can buy a variety of food from all over the world. Do the advantages of this development outweigh it disadvantages?

Advances in transport technology these years have enabled people to have more access to food from other regions. In my opinion, I think this trend can bring about more benefits for people compared with any drawbacks it might bring. Despite the drawbacks below, I believe the advantages gained from a rich variety of exotic foods are extremely beneficial to residents. Firstly, their standard of living can be improved. More foods transported from other regions provide them with more sources of nutrients and therefore develop a healthier diet. This is particularly helpful for people living in places with a limited range of local food in a particular season. Having more seafood, vegetables and fruits produced in other regions is conducive to their physical health. In addition, local consumers can also enjoy a cut in food prices. When more produce can be transported from other places, this will inevitably increase competition in the food market, where producers of local foods are highly likely to lower the price in order to promote their products as a result. Admittedly, there are some issues involved when (as) exotic foods become more available. One problem is that it might prevent people who are keen on exotic foods from consuming local foods on a daily basis. As local foods play a crucial part in cultural identity, the decline in the popularity of these foods might gradually be detrimental to the conservation of local culture. Another negative aspect is related to environmental protection. Transporting exotic food requires more energy consumption than taking local-produced ones to the market, so this trend is criticized by many environmentalists to be unsustainable. However, I think this side effect can be countered by the development and promotion of electric vehicles that can be used in the shipping process. In conclusion, my opinion is that a healthier dietary habit and a lower food price engendered by easier availability of exotic foods are truly favourable to individuals and clearly outweigh any disadvantages.