The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is argued by some that a government should spend money only on public services rather than invest their funds also in arts. Although I agree that the governments' investments in public services play a very important role, I think that funding for the arts sector is also crucial for society. On the one hand, a large part of the county's budget had to go on public services. This sector plays a very important role in our lives. It includes services like education, medical treatment and others. They satisfy the primary needs of the society, therefore money has to be invested in them. For example, any country can not have a high quality of life if these sectors are not developed well. That is why the ruling should finance public services in the first place. On the other hand, arts, music and theatre are not a waste of money, since they maintain our traditions and heritage alive. Since ancient times, our ancestors expressed themselves in arts and music. There are lots of examples of them which we can still see in the museums and in the exhibitions. The government has to sponsor them to save the exciting works of art and to encourage society to produce new ones for our future generations. For instance, museums are the main places where the masterpieces are collected, however, they need to receive money to continue working. For this reason, money should be spent on the maintenance of arts, music and theatres. In conclusion, though I agree that the government should spend lots of money on the basic needs of people, I think that arts, music and theatres should also be financed since they keep our culture alive. Given this situation, it is recommended that governments around the world should finance not only public service, but also the art sector.