It will be better for society and individuals if driverless cars are widely used. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technological advancements introduced by the modern age are transforming peoples’ lives. There is a view that autonomous vehicles can bring advantages to the communities and every person, and this essay will explain why I completely agree with this notion. One of the most significant benefits of self-driving vehicles is that these cars can improve walkability and liveability for people, especially the elderly and the physically disabled. This is important because not only is the population of elderly is rising due to the increased life expectancy over the years, but also the disabled tend to stuck in one place due to their mobility limitations. If, for instance, these populations are able to move around as their desire with the help of a self-driving car, this would give them a sense of autonomy for living, which can be empowering. In turn, it helps to reduce the tendency of depression occurrence as well as curtail happiness that may arise. Apart from the benefits that autonomous cars could bring to individuals, it also provides crucial health improvement and reduces the fatalities rate in society. To begin with the former, the positive impact of auto-pilot vehicles on human health is vast and undeniable. The reason is that it is powered by electricity instead of fossil fuel, which can lower carbon dioxide emissions dramatically. As a result, not only the high risks exposure to a variety of health effects is lowered, but as well protects the environment due to a reduction in pollution. As for the latter, a self-driving car is operated by artificial intelligence, which is being trained to prepare the vehicle for nearly every event on the road. This is why such an automation system is much safer and more reliable than human drivers who have been drinking or texting while driving. Increasing the number of self-driving cars on the road could therefore lower the death tolls in large metropolitan areas. In conclusion, because of the sizeable influence that autonomous vehicles can have on the public and people, I strongly agree that governments should rapidly phase out vehicles that run on diesel and petrol.