There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children . Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this?

Taking the decision of not becoming parents is seen quite common among the couples who had tied nuptial knots around the globe. This essay will suggest that this mindset comes with the merits of a good body shape and career success along with the demerits of fragile bonds and depression in older age. The majority of women prefer not to become mothers to maintain their body physique. To explain, after getting pregnant, a mother has to undergo several body changes including stretch marks, a big belly, and sacked breasts, which might not be appropriate for certain professions. For example, many Bollywood actresses choose a no baby policy, even after their marriage because they do not want to ruin their physical appearance. Moreover, the couples who decide not to plan a baby might be looking for some better career growth. Their current salaries might not be sufficient enough to bear the expenses of nurturing a child. This precautionary mindset allows them to focus on their career and become financially stable rather than expanding the family. One possible demerit could be alienation, when it comes to getting old. To explain, during older age, an older couple needs a shoulder to rely on for medicines and food. Saying no to parenting will make them feel isolated after retirement, which could drive them to depression in severe cases. Furthermore, the naughty activities of a child, his love, his care, and his funny moments strengthen the bond between couples, which otherwise might get weak if there is no connection to join them. For instance, several divorcees had admitted that they might reconsider their divorce case, should they have a baby in their life. In conclusion, although the persistent trend of no parenthood comes with the pros of a better career and body structure, the cons of isolation and weak bonds of couples cannot be ignored.