Nowadays, a lot of offices have open-space designs instead of separate rooms. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, drastic changes can be seen in the workplace where people gather together and work in a huge room rather than in their respective cabins. This essay will state the positives and negatives of this trend and will see whether this decision is more fruitful or not. Taking into consideration the advantages, we can observe two important points. One of them is an increase in the unity among fellow workers. It can be seen that while working under one roof colleagues communicate better and achieve targets with much ease. For example, in MNC leaders and,sub managerial workers work in the same place which makes it more convenient for them to reach their desired goals. Another reason is that it helps in maintaining interpersonal relationships among co-workers. This results in effective working conditions between managers and sub-divisional staff. A report suggests that offices with open-space designs have more easy accountability between supervisors and clerical people. Each coin has two sides, and so does this offer. The foremost disadvantage of having individual rooms is a delay in decision making. While working on a project, going into each and every room for approval Will consume more time thus leading to delays in the process. A study suggests 90% of decisions got delayed due to improper working among fellow workers. The second negative aspect of this trend is that it discriminates between people. Although it is important to maintain decorum in the office, sometimes it leads to misunderstanding among seniors and juniors because of less motivational spirit between them. For instance, a lot of employees face criticism from their managers because of less understanding between them. In conclusion, it is inevitable to say that advantages do outweigh disadvantages and help in building a strong bond among employees not only professionally but personally also.