Governments should spend more money on education than on recreation and sports. Do you agree or disagree?

It is debated that countries should invest more funds in education rather than sports and leisure. This essay agrees with the former point of view. First, will be presented that schooling has economic benefits secondly, the social benefits it provides. Firstly, the money invested in the educational budget has clear monetary advantages. By doing this a country is increasing the number of educated members of society, this class of people is of a higher tendency to have a higher paying jobs or to launch new companies which means higher purchasing power boosting and taxes boosting the economy. To illustrate, in Israel, also known as a Startup Nation, tertiary learning is subsidised by the government by doing that they rip the benefits of their investment when taxing the booming tech sector in the past 25 years. Secondly, education is not just about improving the economy an additional advantage is the social benefits. Properly educated people tend to have higher positions in society and in the workforce leading to a more satisfying life both professionally and personally mitigating the temptation of drugs,alcohol and crime. For example, in the prison system of Israel one of the main rehabilitation tools used is the ability to obtain education this has shown some success in the prevention of repeat offenders in the past 15 years. In conclusion, although important it is my opinion, education of all levels should take seniority over sport and leisure when it comes to parliament budgeting due to its long-term economical and social advantages.