Some people think government should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems to help prevent illness and diseas. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

People have different views as to whether the government should pay more attention to decreasing environmental pollution and housing issues in order to deter illness and disease. In my perspective, despite mitigating environmental degradation and housing problems bringing about many more benefits, I firmly believe that the government should focus on other fields to assist probihit illness and disease. On the one hand, there are two main reasons why decreasing environmental pollution and housing issues could hinder illness and disease. Nowadays, the main source of illness comes from several kinds of pollution, especially air pollution. For instance, there is evidence that a lot of people in the northern part of Thailand have been diagnosed with lung cancer for more than the past decade due to air pollution called PM 2.5. Furthermore, a variety of diseases are located in a slum or an unhealthy community, which directly affects the homeless. As a result, the government must ensure that every person has proper living places in order to avoid pests such as rats or cockroaches as they are disease carriers. On the other hand, there are other areas that the government should focus on to hinder illness and disease. Firstly, the government must enhance the state of science in the country because there is a shortage of scientists and doctors in the job market. Having more scientists means that people will have a better understanding of germs and diseases, which leads to new vaccines and medical treatments. This means that it could save countless people from sickness and death. In addition, the subject of science can cause scientific and technological breakthroughs, creating more advanced technologies to prevent illness and disease such as genetic engineering. In conclusion, although focusing on environmental pollution and housing problems could be an ideal method to prevent illness and disease, I genuinely believe that paying attention to science is a practical solution in the long run.