Nowadays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure. Some believe this travel has a negative impact on the countries travelled to. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Today the amount of tourists is rapidly increasing but some people consider trips to have a negative effect on the countries they travel to. This essay disagrees with the given opinion for the following reasons. First of all, the tourism industry is a significant factor that leads to economic growth and employment. A huge influx of visitors brings a bunch of money for both local and national budgets and provides new jobs. For instance, it contributes almost 4% of total GDP, whereas one in five of all new jobs are created in this field. Secondly, tourism helps countries to promote their culture and raise the profile among others. More precisely, it gives an opportunity to show itself off and leads to cross- cultural awareness among locals and tourists. The national values and culture of European countries are prime examples. They are more widely spreaded all across the globe than less known areas for tourists. To conclude, although travelling to countries has some disadvantageous aspects, the benefits tourism brings to the countries are more relevant. Consequently, every country should know the ways of visitor attraction and try to promote tourism on their territories.