Smart devices have put all of the world information at our fingertips. The benefits of this development are obvious, but what are the drawbacks?

People today are capable of connecting to the internet through the use of their mobile phones. This enables society to have access to a vast amount of information. Even though there are plenty of benefits, such as interconnectivity between people and the spreading of knowledge, there are some drawbacks that are linked to this innovation. To illustrate this, the spread of fake news and the mental health of the users will be analysed. Firstly, smart devices have caused the spread of fake news to be easier than ever. For example, apps like Whatsapp make it easy for smartphone users to quickly create and widespread anything that comes to their mind. The problem with this is that not everybody double-checks the veracity of the messages. Hence, panic, false expectations or fraud is easily created within the society. Moreover, the smart devices usage growth comes in tandem with fewer in-person relationships, affecting the mental well-being of the users. For instance, several mental health studies conclude that people who are more socially connected to family, and friends of their community, are happier and healthier than people who are less well connected. To summarise, smartphone use can be a driver for fake news spread and affect people's mental strength, two conflicting drawbacks to a tool that has been very positive for humanity. These drawbacks will likely remain ongoing obstacles into the foreseeable future.