Some people think that schools should select students only according to their academic abilities while others believe that it is better to consider students’ other abilities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The discussion of whether the academic ability is the only reasonable standard to estimate children has sparked intense controversy. In the essay, I will discuss both sides and give my own opinion. On the one hand, the supporters claim that it is more effective and fairer for schools to select individuals according to their academic performance. Firstly, the aim of setting universities is to inculcate knowledge, such as literal studies and sciences, to students. In the meantime, students could develop their learning skills from schooling. Besides that, the public believes that the objective and fair evaluation system is beneficial to decreasing unequal conflicts. For instance, it is difficult for institutions to figure out which student is good at painting or sports. Thus, the justice and objective choice can not be guaranteed On the other hand, the opponents believe that the way to evaluate students is only based on their academic performance is not appropriate. Firstly, schools are not the place that makes study for study’s own sake. On the contrary, it is sensible that the education system encourages individuals to develop well-rounded skills and provide students who meet society’s needs. Focusing only on grades would damage the students ’ genius, who perform poorly in academics but are talented in some other sectors. What’s more, there is no doubt that all the students will benefit from a mixed-ability group. Since this motivates students to draw strengths and learn from each other. In conclusion, I admit that academic performance assists schools to pick appropriate candidates. However, I believe that there would be more advantages if students with different talents were allowed to work together.