Some people believe that teaching music in schools is a vital part of growing up and the human experience, whilst others believe that teaching music in schools is a waste of time and resources. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Most schools in the world are still following the traditional way of teaching fundamental subjects like maths, science, and history, while in recreation activities I like music and not part of it. This has spurred an argument among people that, teaching music in school is a pivotal part of a child's development, while others say it's a waste of time and resources. On one hand, music helps to build mood, reduce stress, and boost creativity. Schools providing music lessons as a part of their academic curriculum with help students take a breather from their regular studies, and will also let them discover a latent skill within themselves. For example, a student may not be great in regular studies, however, may possess an innate skill of learning music, and this will never be discovered until introduced to the child. Furthermore, it also develops creative thinking, which applies to the other fields of their education as well. On the other hand, there is a possibility that too much involvement in music may hamper their fundamental education, which may result in a lower academic score, and the toddler may struggle to get admission to a good college in the future. Moreover, practicing music as a career is also very risky as the possibility of success is very rare. For example, one of my friends, who practiced music as a career is struggling to make a living. To conclude, teaching music in school will provide many benefits in the form of posting creativity and discovering latent talent, however, it shouldn't be at the expense of the general studies, which can disrupt a child's career. Hence, in my opinion, a balance of both as per the child's talent with parental supervision should be done.