In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

As technology is advancing rapidly nowadays, it’s inevitable that future roads will be busy with autonomous vehicles which will be bringing only passengers. This essay will demonstrate how driverless cars can reduce fatal incidents and save the time of the passengers but will also show that this can lead to such problems as losing of drivers’ jobs and less private security. Whilst acknowledging that there are drawbacks, the essay will argue that the advantages of self-driving vehicles outweigh the disadvantages. The risk of happening fatal incidents can be significantly decreased by automation. This is because the majority of the crashes on the roads are caused by human errors such as drunk driving and distracted driving. As automated cars are based on computer based programs, they have no emotions triggered by external influences. Therefore, they can eliminate dangerous and risky driver behaviors. According to McKinsey, it’s estimated that automated vehicles could cut down accident fatalities by as much as 90 percent. Moreover, with the help of robotic driving, a passenger can perform other tasks instead of spending time driving. It helps a very busy person save time and do other productive work while commuting. On the other hand, the people who are depending on driving to make a living will lose their jobs if computer-controlled vehicles replace humans. The careers such as truck, bus and taxi drivers will become obsolete. In addition, there is a security risk because driverless cars need internet connectivity to be controlled. That can lead to possible different crimes by hacking into the system. For instance, a hacker can easily kidnap a passenger by changing his or her destination in the program. In conclusion, although driverless transport can make jobs lost for drivers and have insecure privacy, I believe that there will be solutions to solve these issues over time and they will greatly improve the lives of most people as well as create a convenient and smart society in the future. Hence, the positive effects of automated vehicles definitely outweigh the drawbacks.