more and more people use private cars instead of taking the public transport. what are the reasons for this rising trend? what can be done to encourage people to use public transport?

A rising number of people prefer driving their own vehicles instead of choosing a bus or a train for their daily travel needs. This is because it is more convenient and time -saving. However, there are a few ways that the government can adopt to encourage people to use more public transport. There are several reasons why a large number of people prefer to drive on their own. Firstly, it allows them to have better control of their schedule. It is easier to run errands and get to different places in a timely manner as opposed to waiting for a public bus or tramp. Time is money for most individuals especially in big cities so no one wants to waste any time,especially for the commute. Secondly, in smaller towns and suburbs most people are forced to buy a vehicle for themselves because the public transport covers only a limited area of the town. For example, when I lived in the north part of Austin, Texas, I had to drive downtown for work because of a lack of any other mode of transport. The nearest subway station was so far away that, it did not make sense for me to go there and then take a long and tiring commute to my work. Finally, sometimes even when there are public transport options available they are simply non-reliable and inconvenient in so many ways. For instance, people could get late to their office if a regular train is late one day. Crowded and dirty buses and tramps also cause discomfort especially when one has to travel long hours. The good news is that, even though this is the present situation, there are ample ways in which individuals can be encouraged to use the public transport system. To begin with, the authorities must make sure that every part of the town, city or village has well-connected roads and rails, with stations and stops at regular intervals. People should be able to easily access the transport system. There is should be enough public vehicles so that they are not overly crowded at all times. Lastly, officials and departments in charge of the time schedule must ensure that there are no lags or delays. To conclude, even though today most people choose private vehicles over public transport to save time and for personal convenience, adequate measures and care from the government can reverse the situation and encourage more people to opt for the public transport system.