More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programmes to get news. They get their news from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Means of news are a legitimate concerns. More of the population does not follow newspapers or watch tv in order to get the news, rather the internet is used. In this essay, I will discuss why this development is beneficial. First, one reason to support the idea is that the internet is widely accessible. The advancement of technology and consequently smartphones lead to people being capable of surfing the web, on their palms, regardless of the time of the day as opposed to waiting for the publication of a newspaper, or news time to be broadcasted. For instance, Google provides access to every news website. As a result, people can save a lot of time and money which otherwise is spent on purchasing the newspaper. Furthermore, directed news stems from the utilisation of the web. People can choose their field of interest and filter out any other news when online. For example, individuals who are interested in the economy can sign up for a newsletter to be sent to them daily. Although people would benefit from following their area of expertise, important news might unintentionally remain unseen. In addition, newspapers and tv spread mostly local news. To illustrate, a businessman who trades in the stock market of a foreign country would not be aware of crucial changes in the markets unless the internet is used. To sum up, the internet has established an alternative for acknowledgement of news in a more rapid, accessible and field of interest. However, some vital information might be neglected along the way.