Some people believe that advertisements targeting children may have negative effects on them, and suggest banning such advertisements as a solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary era, an effective way to promote any product is through advertisements, as it easily grabs the attention of people; therefore, it helps to increase the sales of products rapidly. However, a section of society believes that few adverts are targeting younger audiences which might be harmful to their mental health, and the solution to prevent this trend would be to ban such ads. I agree with the given statement to some extent, and my view will be further discussed in the following paragraphs along with suitable examples. To commence with, every company use advertisements to grow their business; however, a number of people are in the favour of banning adverts completely, as some products have detrimental effects on children's mental and physical health, because the youngsters get attracted towards these ads immediately. Therefore, they try to buy these products. Besides this, sometimes kids argue with their parents to purchase these bad products, and it is also seen in many places that children had stolen their parent's money to buy these types of things. For instance, a report from Time Now in 2019, stated that more than 1000 parents said that their children have stolen money to buy Cigarettes as people can easily see their advertisements anywhere. Hence, it is proven that some adverts have negative impacts on children's health so these types of ads should be banned. However, this is not the best way because companies use ads to grow and promote their goods, and banning them causes huge business loss to the company as well as the country's economy. Therefore, some alternatives ideas should be implemented. Such as, harmful products should have an age limit, which means these types of substances should not be promoted openly. So that, minors are not able to find these adverts. For example, the government can make a stringent law for promoting dangerous substances, such as alcohol, beer, condoms and many more, and also warn the companies to put them in age restrictions categories. It helps to prevent children from excess these products, and also saves companies from major financial loss. In conclusion, banning harmful substances is not the only way to save children to buy them because companies have the right to promote their products; however, these products should be placed in age restriction categories.