Today, people have become accustomed to living in “throwaway” society which means that they use things for a short time and then throw away. What are the causes of this? What problems may this lead to?

Nowadays, it is increasingly common for society to buy new things frequently. Unfortunately, this also encourages them to throw away old but usable gear. This trend has a negative effect on the territory. the population are inclined to buy new junk mainly because of the irresistible advertisements. Manufacturers promote their new products rigorously and capitalize on the needs and desires of the crowd. For instance, every year companies launch a new model of smartphone. Even though it would have the same functionality as the previous model, people are attracted by the promotions and buy them. Another reason for this compulsive urge to buy is the busy lifestyle of people. Nobody has time to fix a substance that has stopped working. Actually, buying new equipment is easier than getting gear repaired. Admittedly, this trend has become a serious threat to our habitat. Excessive production of equipment leads to the depletion of natural resources. For instance, many trees are cut down to produce various household items. If nations wanted to replace their furniture more frequently, it would result in the destruction of forests. In addition, when products are thrown away, they produce more garbage. Many consumer properties have non-recyclable parts that will remain in the soil forever. Thus by throwing away furniture we are unwittingly causing damage to the natural world. To conclude, the throwaway culture is a reflection of our materialistic mentality. We have little regard for nature or natural resources. However, considering the destruction it would cause to the environment of the place this practice needs to be curtailed / discouraged. The government should launch campaigns to create awareness about the dangers of throwing away furnishings and also enact laws that make recycling mandatory.