Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawabacks?

In recent years, the number of students who are studying aboard is increasing around the world. This essay will argue that this phenomenon will benefit the students and the countries involved as students are exposed to more lessons and knowledge. However, it can also make the development in their home countries suffer. Studying abroad for students is beneficial because they can obtain a high-quality learning process from prominent professors and experts. Depending on their majors, they expect to obtain high qualifications for applying for jobs. Moreover, while they are studying, the countries of their universities can conduct much research that will benefit them. Their base countries also will have many talented human resources who are projected to participate in their development programs. For example, Mr Nadiem Makariem is a Harvard University graduate who created many jobs through Gojek, a popular transportation application in Indonesia. The drawback of this situation is that the development of the origin countries can flop since most of its talented citizens are going aboard for academic purposes and never return. Furthermore, some students are willing to stay abroad as they are offered employment after finishing their degree. They do not want to return to their base countries because they know there are not many job opportunities matching their background education. For instance, many high technology programs of the Indonesian government cannot be done as students who are receiving government scholarships choose to have a career aboard. In conclusion, although having many students studying abroad will have many pros for both students and the countries, it will negatively affect the home countries development. So, the students should be wise about their studying plans.