Capital punishment is unjustifiable and barbaric. In this modern age, it should not be allowed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Capital punishment has been a topic of profound ethical, legal, and societal debate for centuries. In the pursuit of justice, is the death penalty effective in eliminating a crime? In the modern age, some argue that the death penalty is not allowed because it violates the fundamental human right to life, is barbaric, and is morally and ethically wrong. However, I would argue that the death penalty is necessary to keep the security system efficient; here, I convey my arguments. Capital punishment is necessary in society because it upholds justice above everything. Some say that this punishment may not be a significant deterrent. However, it is an effective deterrent to major crimes. The best way to prevent a person from committing a crime is to show the consequences of his or her action because potential offenders could think twice about committing heinous crimes due to the fear of facing the ultimate punishment in the country. For example, China’s Government uses capital punishment to overcome a variety of crimes such as murder, drug trafficking, corruption, and some instances of economic crimes; as a result, the number of crimes in China goes down. In addition, it could also be argued that the death penalty could bring public instability in the environment. However, executing individuals who have committed extreme crimes eliminates the possibility of them causing harm to society because if they were to be released, they would do the same crime or even worse. Also, this punishment could give closure to the victim’s family, as it represents the state taking decisive action against the perpetrator. Moreover, capital punishment can save more cost. It could be argued that maintaining prisoners is part of human rights. However, the government spends large sums of the national budget on it. Instead, this money can be used for the development of the society and welfare of the people. Other than that, the budget for maintaining prisoners could be converted to other resources such as crime prevention, victim support, or other aspects of the criminal justice system that may significantly impact public safety. In conclusion, although capital punishment has some disadvantages, especially in human rights and moral and ethical concerns, I think it is the best way of controlling criminals, lessening governmental expenses, and preventing other people from committing crimes.