State your opinion. Should kids be given phones at a young age?

Mobiles have become an immense part of everyone's life in today's era. Providing teenagers with phones itself is a debatable topic in society. In my opinion, children should be provided with phones but for a certain period of time. This essay will provide the relevant points for the same. Giving gadgets to adolescents brings with it both the positives and the negatives of using them. Talking about the advantages it offers, by using phones, children tend to become independent as they do not have to look towards elders for their problems. For example, Google plays a pivotal role in everyone's life now, by providing children with all the knowledge they need for their projects. Furthermore, proper usage usually helps children in their times of distress. In other words, offspring can call their parents when in need. A survey shows a 90% increase in usage of phones among teenagers when they got stuck. On the other hand, the disadvantages are not even less, sometimes children get indulged in some improper sites, which in turn affect their studies to great extent. For instance, the availability of inappropriate stuff online usually harms children's education. In addition, some students even get caught in dark societies on the net, due to which they have to suffer a lot in their life. A report depicts, an increase in the number of demises among young children due to their association with illicit things. To sum up, it is inevitable to say that mobile phones are beneficial for children as they can help in times of problems but we cannot neglect the demerits it offers. I personally think if parents use parental locks and minimise the usage time for children, it would a great idea to provide kids with phones