There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In this era of fierce competition, many youngsters strive to achieve good results in their institutes. A school of thought believes, that to assist them unimportant subjects like home sciences and physical education must be excluded from their curriculum. However, a large group of people and I strongly suggest that this will have harmful implications on the physical and mental well-being of the child, and will not contribute towards their holistic growth. To begin, a strong argument could be made that academic success brings a sense of financial safety and social pride. This can be attributed to the demeaning behaviour we present towards those who achieve low scores and the way we look up to the ones scoring high marks. Furthermore, it is widely accepted that pupils who are academically sound get better job opportunities and lead a financially stable life in comparison to their contraries. For instance, a student who is a high achiever is praised throughout his high school for his intelligence and lands a high-paying job at a multi-national company, which provides him with all the possible luxuries, whereas another pursuing their passion of being a chef might face many challenges in earning similar sums. As a result, education in certain subjects leading to better lives, is respected and regarded more than others including sports and cooking. On the other hand, If this were to happen it would result in a devastating impact on the overall health and development of the young population, additionally resulting in the failure of the education system to prepare them for the future. This is because, these days most children spend most of their time at home, barely participating in any physical activity, due to this most of their social engagement and skill development happens at school. furthermore, they only help out with house chores on rare occasions. For example, numerous studies have concluded that outdoor activity amongst Indian children has dropped by 65% in the past few decades resulting in higher rates of obesity and anxiety disorders. As a result, it is important to highlight the importance of teaching non-academic subjects at schools. To conclude, I strongly disagree with the opinion of eradicating important courses like physical education and meal preparation classes. The facts suggest that they are extremely crucial for the cumulative growth of humans, even though I certainly understand that academic subjects ensure financial and personal stability.