Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A large number of criminals who serve their first prison sentence, leave prison only to re-offend, This is mainly because of the lack of rehabilitation and difficulty finding regular employment once released. There are a number of solutions which should be implemented to deal with criminals who re-offend. Firstly, the reason for most first -time offenders committing crimes again, once they have been released from prison, is due to the lack of rehabilitation whilst in prison. In other words, offenders are not given a chance to retrain and learn new skills for their future or develop a deeper understanding of correct moral behaviour and instead mix with other criminals, which only strengthens their criminal intentions, Secondly, repeat offending is also owing to the difficulty in finding employment after being released. As a result, many of them struggle financially which leads them back to crime, regardless of the consequences. There are two effective solutions to the problem of repeat offenders. One way to tackle this is to ensure that all criminals entering prison are given the chance to retrain with useful skills which will hopefully ensure them a job after they served their sentence. Doing this, it will help them reintegrate back into society and give them some means of supporting themselves financially. Another method of dealing with criminals who offend is to have more supervision and checks in place when they are back in society. This solution would hopefully prevent them from reoffending because they are being closely watched. In conclusion, having training in prison and also close observation when first -time offenders are released is effective in dealing with the issue. If governments implemented these solutions, crime figures would soon drop.