Many museums charge for admission, while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

A number of museums charge an entry fee, while others do not. I believe that the drawbacks of charging fees do not outweigh the benefits because although some people are excluded when museums charge admission, this funding enables many museums to remain open. The main disadvantage of charging entry to museums is that high fees exclude some of the population, especially in less developed countries. Many people in poorer countries have just enough money for food and shelter, so paying for non-essential items like exhibits and museums is impossible. For example, one of the most famous museums in Egypt charges about $7 USD for admission, which is far too expensive for the large number of Egyptians who earn less than $2 USD per day. However, I would argue that without this income museums would struggle to survive. One benefit of entry fees is that they allow many museums to keep their doors open. Not all museums receive government funding, and even those who do often find it insufficient to cover operating costs. Ticket sales make it possible for them to keep running, which enables at least some people to see the exhibits, rather than none at all. For instance, in the UK, there have been huge government spending cuts over the last few years, and a number of museums have had to rely on entrance fees to stay open. I think that the most important consideration is the continuation of museums, despite the costs. In conclusion, although it is unfortunate that not everyone can enjoy the exhibits in a museum if an entry fee is charged, I believe the money earned from admission is often the only thing that keeps the doors open, making such a fee much more beneficial.