many people feel that media coverage has becoming increasingly biased today. Why is this? What can be done to fix this problem?

Some would argue that media platforms globally are becoming more prejudicial towards a given side of the political spectrum. I believe that this is a natural reaction to societal changes and can be mitigated only by media consumers themselves. Individuals today feel increasingly drawn to the comfort of polarizing content. The explanations for this appeal are fundamentally psychological. All humans naturally strive to become part of a movement confirming their opinions and elevating their self-esteem. A recent well-known example of this would be some of the emerging right and left wing pundits that have become popular such as Glenn Beck and Rachel Maddow. A large portion of their allure is that they state extreme viewpoints with complete certainty and therefore admit their followers into a self-righteous ideology. In order to become more moderate, individuals must monitor their own behavior critically. For example, a person who is addicted to coverage that either provokes outrage or confirms their pre-existing opinions could consider a more active hobby such as reading a book or playing a sport. When consuming media, one can seek the most balanced commentators and networks. This will have an impact in the aggregate if individuals globally tune out the most extreme channels generally. Media platforms will in turn tailor their coverage to more moderate voices to recapture their audiences. In conclusion, the media ’s focus on extreme positions mirrors a desire among the general populace to be part of a group of like-minded believers and only individuals themselves have the authority to counter this shift. Governments have little role to play in regulating a free press.