Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, it is pivotal for the government to properly handle and balance the infrastructure of the country.So, some individuals recommend that they should spend their finance on sports while others advocate that it should be equally funded in general activities like encouraging the public to be ardent and vigorous. In my perspective, I completely disagree with this statement as I will support my notion with further details. As the development of young beings is as essential as their education, the government should not neglect the aspect of the sport that contributes to children's sake. Consequently, this will further nurture the sense of sport and potentially lead them to be professional athletes on their own. Another reason to help athletes is that if the authority actively contributes to such programs, this will highly impact their careers in a positive way. For example, the proper coaching of the experienced instructors and the resources to support the athletes can significantly improve their skills and ultimately allow them to increase the country's reputation. However, on the other hand, it is not necessarily ideal to use their finance just to seduce people to be enthusiastic and healthy. Even though this is generally crucial, the government can decently motivate them with regular campaigns. Moreover, they can also provide public awareness competitions and for children, they can guide and instil the importance of health and involvement with certain education programs. In conclusion, both of the statements are vital in their aspect. But, as a citizen, I prefer those sports programs to support players rather than motivate the public to stay healthy. As for me, it is recommended that the government handle them by adjusting the respective roles.