To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Food security is the top priority for every country around the world. Some people think that their governments should look to encourage insect consumption, while others argue that eating insects is dangerous and the overexploitation of these small creatures might lead to habitat destructure. In my opinion, I feel that consuming insects is a necessity despite some risks of that and this essay will outline some pros and cons as well as some examples of this. On the one hand, eating bugs, as gross as it seems, benefits human bodies and the world in many ways. Firstly, insects are a great source of nutrients as they supply protein content, amino acids, and vitamins that need for our healthy bodies. For example, a small number of crickets can contain enough recommended daily allowance. Moreover, feeding with insect meat is a resource efficiency because when raising livestock produces more methane gas than raising insects, which is lead to global warming. On the other hand, even so, there are a few points such as the possibility of allergies and pesticides to consider before embarking on a diet of grasshoppers, crickets, and ants. Although insects have been consumed as food for generations in some parts of the world, there is still little known about how they might affect our bodies, especially allergic reactions. For instance, when eating crickets, their skin becomes itching. Besides that, harvesting insects in nature can have a high risk of pesticides that farmers often use to protect their crops. In conclusion, consuming these six-legged animals might contribute to solving the global food shortage, and it also good nutrients as well. But there are some drawbacks that must be considered if you start feeding the world with insects such as allergic reactions and pesticides.